Not switching to generator power after utility is down.

Generac, Guardian, Honeywell, Siemens, Centurion, Watchdog, Bryant, & Carrier Air Cooled Home Standby generator troubleshooting and repair questions
Post Reply
MacL
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:35 am

rhorwitz wrote:
Fri Feb 14, 2020 9:37 pm
I am turning off the 200 amp main breaker for the house.
And you put your meter leads on the front bottom 2 lugs (the generator) with it running and your meter says what?
You don’t know what you don’t know.
rhorwitz
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:03 pm

I will check that in the morning.

Just got home from dinner with my valentines date. :inlove:
rhorwitz
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:03 pm

Good morning all.

They say the early bird gets the worm.

I found a loose wire on the e2 lug. Fixed that and when I fire up the generator and ground 23, the switch works!!! Yayyy!!!
And, the house is powered.

But, it still doesn't transfer over to gen power on its own. After the start and the 10 second wait.

Yes, I still have 12v at 194.
rhorwitz
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:03 pm

And, I found the white wire in the transfer switch box and pulled on it and it came out of the crimp terminal lug. I fixed that

Although, I did ground the white wire out in the generator panel and my wife said the relay clicked.

I'll run a test after we're done breakfast.
Last edited by rhorwitz on Sat Feb 15, 2020 9:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
rhorwitz
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:03 pm

Ran the power out test.
No good. Did not make the switch to generator. Grounded white wire at panel and switch moved.
Chris
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2470
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2018 8:46 pm
Location: Clawson, MI
Contact:

Well, at least you solved 1 problem!

The last test I would suggest is to test for 12V AT the generator on 23/194 when you simulate an outage. If you still don't have it out there, I'd say controller (unless you find another bad connection at the terminal block or controller connector).
Generac tech for over 12 years. I'm here to help!
"The only source of knowledge is experience" -Albert Einstein
Looking for Generac parts? Gentek Power offers the full line of Generac replacement parts! Shop Gentek Power Generac Parts
A list of my favorite Generator & Electrical Tools! https://www.amazon.com/shop/gentek_power
rhorwitz
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:03 pm

Chris,

I just did that.

Started generator. Had wife looking at transfer switch.
I grounded white wire in the generator terminal and switch moved properly.

So, i guess its the control panel?
rhorwitz
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:03 pm

Its kinda funny. I talked to a local guy. He said that he sees a lot of loose wires on these units when he comes out for service calls.
rhorwitz
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:03 pm

No 12v between 33 and 194. Double checked terminal block.

Has anyone seen any problems at the connector on the controller itself?
rhorwitz
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:03 pm

Checked controller for any loose wires at the J5 connection. All is good there.

Still no voltage between 194 & 33 during initial power outage.

Controller?
Post Reply