Synergy "unsolvable problem" Error 1062

Generac, Guardian, Honeywell, Siemens, Centurion, Watchdog, Bryant, & Carrier Air Cooled Home Standby generator troubleshooting and repair questions
srr2
New Member
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2019 1:29 pm

Exactly. That seems logical. In fact, it's true that the controller (and AVR?) DO have DC power during utility outage. The controller responds normally to any keyboard input, just as you'd expect. So obviously, there's a DC connection somewhere in there. However, it's also true that with the charger unpowered, the startup sequence fails, emitting the 1062 error. And as I'd mentioned earlier, both the controller and AVR were replaced without any change. That's why I suspect wiring: a missing wire, incorrect connector assembly, or a damaged pin. I may just rip the whole thing apart when weather permits next spring to buzz out every connection and inspect every pin & socket.
Chris
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2470
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2018 8:46 pm
Location: Clawson, MI
Contact:

Yea, something is definitely not right there. These units operate completely stand alone off of the 12V system. They will run until the battery dies basically...
Generac tech for over 12 years. I'm here to help!
"The only source of knowledge is experience" -Albert Einstein
Looking for Generac parts? Gentek Power offers the full line of Generac replacement parts! Shop Gentek Power Generac Parts
A list of my favorite Generator & Electrical Tools! https://www.amazon.com/shop/gentek_power
cknutson
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2019 9:24 pm

I'm having the same problem with my Generac Synergy 7040. Could you tell me what you used for your small UPS on the T1 connection and if you have found a way to force the clearing of the 1062 error message vs letting it timeout? Thank you.
mradtke
New Member
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2020 1:09 pm

I have this same problem with my model 7040, although I don't have as high a failure rate. When my new unit (Dec 2017) started having error code 1062 failures, it was fairly infrequent, and usually not at startup. So the installer, at the direction of Generac, added ground wires within the unit to the various modules (cabinet grounding, I don't believe any grounding was added directly to a circuit board). That improve reliability for about 18 months (I'd have to check the log, but maybe had 3 failures in that time). But now my failures (about 30% of the loss of utility power starts) occur at startup, and cannot be cleared for a couple hours. I need to take a video of the failure - when I try to clear the error I think the panel says something about stopping the unit... while it makes a clicking sound for a few seconds, then returns to the alarm state. It is interesting that I also see heavy 'flickering' of my lights that are on electronic switches (I use Insteon home automation devices). That flickering is really bad at startup and lessens as the unit runs over the course of about an hour, but never goes away completely. I don't have a scope to put on it, but I wish I could see the sine wave coming out of this machine.

Now that I'm out of warranty, I get a bill for them to come out and look at the unit and say, it starts now, there is nothing more we can do. I am going to show them this thread in the hopes that this information, coupled with the technical documentation they have access to, will allow them to find a solution. Unfortunately I have limped through the warranty period, so we'll see how Generac will handle this next step. If they won't cover it, I'm not even going to start the service fee meter running. I'll call a Kohler dealer and work on getting this replaced. Hopefully I could re-use the transfer switch and remote load shed devices.
Biermaem
New Member
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 9:32 am

I have a 7040 Generac and using RTG42SHA1 transfer switch and have the exact same problem as listed here.
Now that Generac figured out that i am using the RTG42SHA1 transfer switch they canceled my warranty and cutting it short by 3 years.

Service people don’t know what to do anymore. Controller was replaced and extra ground cable was added but no improvement.

In a way i am happy to find out i am not the only one with this problem but it does not solve the problem.

Generac is very disappointing, they don’t even know they sell this RTG42SHA1 transfer switch.

Obviously it’s not my transfer switch since i assume everyone else is using the standard transfer switch that came with the 7040

Any help would be greatly appreciated
mradtke
New Member
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2020 1:09 pm

I have an RTSB200A3 transfer switch that my dealer included with my install in December 2017.
Biermaem
New Member
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 9:32 am

Hello,
I am amazed that srr2 figured out about keeping T1 energized with an UPS backup. Is this still working for srr2??, because I am planning on doing the same issue since no "Specialist" can come up with the solution for the real origin of the problem.
respectfully.
biermaem
Chris
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2470
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2018 8:46 pm
Location: Clawson, MI
Contact:

Unfortunately since I have none of these offgrid units here where I am (I've only worked on one of them one time), my knowledge is limited to what's in a diagnostic manual and not any real hands on experience. I have no access to programming information and how the controller was programmed to function.

All I can really say is, make SURE the firmware is updated to the latest version. These units have different firmware than the other controllers and they will release fixes for strange issues like this from time to time.
Generac tech for over 12 years. I'm here to help!
"The only source of knowledge is experience" -Albert Einstein
Looking for Generac parts? Gentek Power offers the full line of Generac replacement parts! Shop Gentek Power Generac Parts
A list of my favorite Generator & Electrical Tools! https://www.amazon.com/shop/gentek_power
Post Reply