200a ATS Model # ?

Need a part number for something? Post about it here
grsthegreat
Generator Jedi Master
Generator Jedi Master
Posts: 4225
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2020 5:59 pm

They make double spade connectors, or just lug it with the T1 feed wire and call it good. Really no different than the spade connector.
FlaFyrFyter
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 8:32 pm

Cut off the 2 red 22-16 males and ran 2 wires into a blue 16-14 insulated female spade
Attachments
IMG_20210915_000430257~2.jpg
IMG_20210915_000430257~2.jpg (84.03 KiB) Viewed 8125 times
grsthegreat
Generator Jedi Master
Generator Jedi Master
Posts: 4225
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2020 5:59 pm

Wait a second……doesnt the new fuse need to be attached to T2 terminal…..not T1. You already have a T1 circuit.

Unfortunately I’m too busy to look up the schematic again, anyone else help out.
FlaFyrFyter
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 8:32 pm

That thought has made me trepidatous about putting the fuse block in the whole time , Yes , I already have a T-1 at the top next to N-1 & N-2 but I just followed these directions that said it attaches to T-1 lug , which I thought was the reason they include a double make spade , to replace the single spade behind the lug , moving it to T-2 is not a problem either if that's where it needs to be.
Attachments
Screenshot_20210915-015554~2.png
Screenshot_20210915-015554~2.png (93.89 KiB) Viewed 8111 times
Screenshot_20210908-030943.png
Screenshot_20210908-030943.png (166.25 KiB) Viewed 8114 times
Last edited by FlaFyrFyter on Wed Sep 15, 2021 2:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
grsthegreat
Generator Jedi Master
Generator Jedi Master
Posts: 4225
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2020 5:59 pm

I’m just trying to recall how the old switches were set up with 4 fuses. I think the newer one needs to be on T2 but I’m not sure. Hopefully someone else here remembers. If I get some time this afternoon I’ll try to dig into the manual.

That kit you have was designed to add a T1 to a switch that did not have a T1. But can be used anywheres you need an extra fuse.

This is just triggering something in the back of my mind.
grsthegreat
Generator Jedi Master
Generator Jedi Master
Posts: 4225
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2020 5:59 pm

Ok…I looked up the generators manuals as per serial number in the picture you posted (4006712). You do need new fuse attached to T2.
4BE3807E-B013-4B2A-96E2-8C924F8CE49A.png
4BE3807E-B013-4B2A-96E2-8C924F8CE49A.png (180.66 KiB) Viewed 8099 times
A5077481-A525-40E8-AE01-1EDEC7BACA60.png
A5077481-A525-40E8-AE01-1EDEC7BACA60.png (172.5 KiB) Viewed 8099 times

You can find all the manuals pertaining to this new liquid cooled generator here. If you look at the owners manual for the transfer switch (that came originally with this generator) you will see schematics .
FlaFyrFyter
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 8:32 pm

I have the manual (0E1151) for the generator , finding that was the easy easy part , thank you for helping confirm that it needs to be on T-2 , and actually that manual shows what ATS would've been pre-packaged with this generator at the time it was produced , not the current ATS I have to work with , still waiting on electrical permit so I have time , just hope the building dept didn't expect me to be too detailed on my drawing
Attachments
IMG_20210915_181224196~2.jpg
IMG_20210915_181224196~2.jpg (79.09 KiB) Viewed 8069 times
FlaFyrFyter
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 8:32 pm

Would it be advisable to keep a spare main breaker for my aging generator? Siemens has been in business forever but always possibility it is or will be a discontinued item , not that it trips often , ever tripped , or gets any wear & tear on it , Next , while waiting for permit approval and now that I have connections for T-1 , T-2 , 194 , 23 , and 0 , Do I need to do something about 178 & 183 that's in the generator and not in the ATS ,

Is that now handled internally by the ATS ?

I keep finding stuff on 2-Wire start kit or retrofit kit , is that something I need to start looking for ?

I don't know what that highlighted "see dealer for panel conversion ..." means.
Attachments
Screenshot_20210921-121323.png
Screenshot_20210921-121323.png (93.92 KiB) Viewed 7987 times
Screenshot_20210921-101309.png
Screenshot_20210921-101309.png (112.62 KiB) Viewed 7987 times
Screenshot_20210921-031034.png
Screenshot_20210921-031034.png (86.45 KiB) Viewed 7987 times
Screenshot_20210921-031045.png
Screenshot_20210921-031045.png (65.31 KiB) Viewed 7987 times
Screenshot_20210921-031054.png
Screenshot_20210921-031054.png (104.72 KiB) Viewed 7987 times
grsthegreat
Generator Jedi Master
Generator Jedi Master
Posts: 4225
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2020 5:59 pm

the 2 wire start kit 178/183 wires... are used on certain systems such as solar that do not use a transfer switch. if your system has a transfer switch, than wires are not used.

i personally have never replaced a breaker in a generator. i have in houses, but not a generator. keeping a spare is up to you, but there not cheap.

100 amp breaker part # 0D5544
FlaFyrFyter
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 8:32 pm

It's manufactured by Siemens , $80 , I just don't see it wearing out if it's only in the "On" position . I may opt for a spare starter for this Mitsubishi engine before a breaker , Also I'd love nothing more than to be able to buy only "Generac" parts at Generac prices but the fact is I can't make myself pay those kind of prices , who in their right mind would pay $800 for a muffler , killed me to pay $400 for a better made , all stainless steel muffler .
Post Reply